Hey Medium, Is This Thing On? [tap tap] Could Someone Buy My Book?

Eric Saeger
4 min readJun 22, 2024
Eric Saeger book, My Year in the Online Left

I’ve done basically no advertising for my new sociopolitical book “My Year In The Online Left” except for a little Amazon advertising just to make sure it doesn’t disappear (they didn’t like the title of my last one for obvious reasons), so here I am on Medium because I’m too lazy to start a Substack.

The original idea was to do a small ad in Publishers Weekly (that alone costs around $500; Kirkus Reviews is around the same), but when my job ended after 20 years, well, lol, I decided I’d get a lot more out of life by focusing on my side business and (at least) semi-retiring. I’m okay with it tbh. The fastest way to go broke is writing books.

As always, Google is pretending it doesn’t even exist, like a search on “Eric Saeger book” doesn’t find it, even though it’s been out for two weeks, whereas DuckDuckGo has tons of entries for it. To put it gently, I fucking hate Google with the power of a billion black holes. They’re the real-life Matrix.

I’ve had some good support from friends on Twitter and FB, and I appreciate that more than I can say. I’ll never be one of the popular kids on Twitter; like I describe in the book, I physically cannot sit around tweeting the same stuff 10 times a day, like “Biden is just a Reaganite with a pussy hat” or “Trump is a monster” just to get 400…

--

--

Eric Saeger

Author of “Russian Nazi Troll Bots! The Busy Person’s Guide to How Trump’s Trolls Won the Internet.” Music writer at Hippo Press. Software guy. Doomsayer.